Witch Poetry

Witches and Dragons

I have gathered some of these thoughout my life and as you will see the authors name is on each one.

Enjoy!

I Am A Witch

Kathryn Lauritzen

You may torture me,
And you may hurt me,
But you’ll never break my spirit.

Do not think that because I do not worship your god,
That I worship the evil you call satan.

And just because I use the power inside me,
Doesen’t mean it comes from hell,
Nor from evil creatures,
Who take pleasure
In the suffering and killing of others.

Do not think that because I can use magick
I will hurt you in any way.

Cause even though
Your religion
Once killed many like me,
And many more who weren’t like me,
You will never break my spirit.

For I am a witch,
And no one can ever change me.

I am a Witch!

Sandi Thomas

When I stand up for myself and my beliefs, they call me a witch.
When I stand up for those I love, they call me a witch.
When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts, or do things my own way, they call me a witch.

Being a witch entails raising my children to be strong people
Who have a solid sense of personal and social responsibility,
Who are not afraid to stand up for what they believe in
And, who love and respect themselves for the beautiful beings they are.

Being a witch means that I am free to be the wonderful creature I am,
With all my own intricacies, contradictions, quirks and beauty.
Being a witch means I won’t compromise what’s in my heart.
It means I live my life MY way. It means I won’t allow anyone to step on me.

When I refuse to tolerate injustice and speak up against it, I am defined as a witch.
The same thing happens when I take time for myself instead of being everyone else’s maid or when I act a little selfish.

I am proud to be a witch! It means I have the courage and strength to allow myself to be who I truly am and won’t become anyone else’s idea of what they think I “should” be.

I am outspoken, opinionated and determined.
By Goddess, I want what I want and there is nothing wrong with that!

So, try to stomp on me, try to douse my inner flame, try to squash every ounce of beauty I hold within me. You won’t succeed.

And if that makes me a witch, so be it. I embrace the title and am proud to bear it. I love this, I can call myself a witch now and not feel bad about it!

I, Witch

Lady Amhranai

I am many things,
I am a Daughter, a Lover, and a Friend.
I am a Teacher, a Student, and a Woman.
I am many things,
Wear many costumes,
And act in many ways.
Yet beneath each mask I wear,
I am a Witch.

I am a Priestess,
I follow the Path,
I follow the Old Tradition,
I follow the Ways of the Wise Ones.
I seek to know the God,
I seek to know the Goddess,
I seek to know myself.
I am a Witch.

Though I may only dress up,
For eight sabbats a year,
And thirteen esbats in turn,
I am always a Witch.
Though I may not always dress in black,
Or leave my hair wild and free,
I am still a Witch.

I do not worship Satan,
I’ve never even met him,
Yet many see me as evil,
And magick as a sin.
I do what comes natural,
What the Gods have taught me,
And although it does not conform,
I am still a Witch.
The Goddess shows me beauty,
The God has shown me life,
And Earth, and Air,
And Fire, and Water,
Teach me what is right.
And Spirit in its mystic ways,
Teaches me about myself.
That I am a Witch.

The Night Witches

The Werewitch

Down on the beach
Standing on a dune
Awaiting nature to teach
By the light of the moon
It’s the witches time
Performing a ritual
The witch speaks in rhyme
This is not unusual
The witch seems wrong
Even strange, to you
But I can understand the song
You see, I’m a witch too.

The Witch Remembers Her Last Incarnation

Anon

I Remember, O Fire,
How thy flames once’ enkindled my flesh,
Among writing Witches caught close in the flame,
Now tortured for having beheld what secret.

But to those who saw What We Had Seen
Yea, The Fire Was Vaught.

Ah, well I Remember the buildings ablaze
With the light that our bodies had lit.
And we smiled, to behold the flames wind about us.

The faithful, among the faithless and blind
To the chanting of prayers
In the frenzy of flame
We sang Hosannas to Thee, Our Gods,
Midst the strength giving fire,
Pledged our Love to Thee from the Pyre.

Song of the Witch

Selena Fox

Will you be of Wicca, tonight?
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
Then come with me to the Circle of Light.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Take up these herbs and brew up a tea.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
And drink it all down; the gods you shall see.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Take up the glass, and look at your face.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
Go into yourself and find a new place.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Go to the Woods, and find an Oak tree.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
And cling to it tight, and strong you shall be.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Go to the Mountains and call to the Wind.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
And fly through the Air with the Thoughts that you send.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Fly to the Sun, and touch its bright Flame.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
Open your Mind; now choose a new Name.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Go to the Sea, and call to the Moon.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
Raise up your arms, then sing out Her tune.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

Now join your hands with Those who surround.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
Now share the Power that we send around.
Bend the Will; the Wish you shall find.

We shall part, but meet again soon.
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Tyme.
To dance, and sing, and Call Down the Moon.
Bend the Will, the Wish you shall find.

Witches Rede of Chivalry

Ed Fitch and Janine Renee

Magical Rites from the Crystal Well, 1987, Llewellyn Publications.

Insofar as the Craft of the Wise is the most ancient and most honorable creed of humankind, it behooves all who are Witches to act in ways that give respect to the Old Gods, to their sisters and brothers of the Craft, and to themselves.

Therefore, be it noted that:

  • Chivalry is a high code of honor which is of most ancient Pagan origin, and must be lived by all who follow the old ways.
  • It must be kenned that thoughts and intent put forth on this Middle Earth will wax strong in other worlds beyond and return…bringing into creation, on this world, that which had been sent forth. Thus one should exercise discipline, for “as ye plant, so shall ye harvest.”
  • It is only by preparing our minds to be as Gods that we can ultimately attain godhead.
  • “This above all…to thine own self be true…”
  • A Witch’s word must have the validity of a signed and witnessed oath. Thus, give thy word sparingly, but adhere to it like iron.
  • Refrain from speaking ill of others, for not all truths of the matter may be known.
  • Pass not unverified words about another, for hearsay is, in large part, a thing of falsehoods.
  • Be thou honest with others, and have them know that honesty is likewise expected of them.
  • The fury of the moment plays folly with the truth; to keep one’s head is a virtue.
  • Contemplate always the consequences of thine acts upon others. Strive not to do harm.
  • Diverse covens may well have diverse views of love between members and with others. When a coven, clan, or grove is visited or joined, one should discern quietly their practices, and abide thereby.
  • Dignity, a gracious manner, and a good humor are much to be admired.
  • As a Witch, thou has power, and thy powers wax strongly as wisdom increases. Therefore, exercise discretion in the use thereof.
  • Courage and honor endure forever. Their echoes remain when the mountains have crumbled to dust.
  • Pledge friendship and fealty to those who so warrant. Strengthen others of the Brethren and they shall strengthen thee.
  • Thou shalt not reveal the secrets of another Witch or Coven. Others have labored long and hard for them, and cherish them as treasures.
  • Though there may be differences among those of the Old Ways, those who are once-born must see nothing, and must hear nothing.
  • Those who follow the mysteries should be above reproach in the eyes of the world.
  • The laws of the land should be obeyed whenever possible and within reason, for in the main they have been chosen with wisdom.
  • Have pride in thyself and seek perfection in body and in mind. For the Lady has said, “How canst thou honor another unless thou give honor to thyself first?”
  • Those who seek the Mysteries should consider themselves the select of the Gods, for it is they would lead the race of humankind to the highest of thrones and beyond the very stars.

Witch’s Rune

Traditional

Music By Brandal

Darksome night and silvery moon
East then south then west then north
To thee we sing a witch’s tune
To call the ancient powers forth

Cup for water, airy sword
A pentacle to touch the earth
Fiery wand all in accord
Lady guide us to rebirth

Cord and censer, scourge and knife
Power of the witch’s blade
Waken all ye into life
Come ye as the charm is made

Queen of heaven, queen of hell
Ancient huntress of the night
Listen as we sing this spell
All love and pleasures are your rites

By all the powers of land and sea
By the light of moon and sun
As i will, so mote it be
Chant this spell, so be it done

(a slightly different version)

The witch’s rune

Darksome night and shining moon
East and south and west and north
To each we sing the witch’s rune
To call the ancient power’s horn

Cup of water, airy sword
A pentacle to touch the earth
Firey wand all in accord
Lady guide us to rebirth

Cord and cencer, scourge and knife
Aparapa witch’s creed
Wakened by ye into life
Come ye as the charm is made

Queen of heaven, queen of hell
Ancient huntress of the night
Join us as we sing the spell
Our love and pleasure are your rite.

By all the powers of land and sea
By the might of moon and sun
As i will, so mote it be
Chant the spell and be it done.

Another version called the witch’s tune
Words adapted by aldan

Dark of night and rising moon,
East, then south, then west, then north
To each we sing a witches’ tune
That calls the ancient powers forth.

Cup for water, fiery sword,
A pentacle to touch the earth,
Airy wand, all in a cord;
Lady, guide us to rebirth.

White for birth, and green for life.
And black for all the worlds between,
Cauldron, censor, scourge and knife
All celebrate the triple queen.

Queen of heaven, earth and hell
Ancient hunter of the night,
Join us as we sing this spell:
All love and pleasure are her rites.

By all the powers of land and sea,
By all the might of moon and sun,
As i will, so mote it be:
Chant the spell, and be it done.

The Witch’s Ballad

Doreen Valiente

Oh, I have been beyond the town,
Where nightshade black and mandrake grow,
And I have heard and I have seen
What righteous folk would fear to know!
For I have heard, at still midnight,
Upon the hilltop far, forlorn,
With note that echoed through the dark,
The winding of the heathen horn.

And I have seen the fire aglow,
And glinting from the magic sword,
And with the inner eye beheld
The Horned One, the Sabbat’s lord.
We drank the wine, and broke the bread,
And ate it in the Lady’s name.
We linked our hands to make the ring,
And laughed and leaped the Sabbat game.

Oh, little do the townsfolk reck,
When dull they lie within their bed!
Beyond the streets, beneath the stars,
A merry round the witches tread!
And round and round the circle spun,
Until the gates swung wide ajar,
That bar the boundaries of earth
From faery realms that shine afar.

Oh, I have been and I have seen
In magic worlds of Otherwhere.
For all this world may praise or blame,
For ban or blessing nought I care.
For I have been beyond the town,
Where meadowsweet and roses grow,
And there such music did I hear
As worldly-righteous never know.

We Are Witches All

Anon

We sing and dance and hold our rites,
We live and love together.
We go sky-clad or wear our outer robes
If it is chilling weather.
About the altar we do dance;
We praise The Gods
We love and ever do, we give
Our thanks to the sun.
And moon above, We are The Craft;
Love The Craft; We are Witches All.
Join us.. In Our Circle For We Are Witches All.
Walk into our Circle and feel the love Bound,
And Meet The Lord and Lady who guide us in our Rounds;
” An’ Harm None, Do What Thou Wilt.”
It is The Wiccan Rede.
We fear no foe for love we show,
In thought and also Deed.
Our words of thanks, our songs of praise,
We offer them in pray’r.
We sing their praise, we ask their help;
We know that they are there.

Leave a Reply

