Sticks and Stones

We all know that ole saying, “sticks and stones may hurt my bones, but words can never hurt me”, well I am sure that person never thought about it for real before saying it. Yes sticks and stones will hurt you, but those bruises and hurts will heal. BUT those unsavory hurtful words will hurt more deeply than any stick or stone  and take so much more time to heal, if ever.

We all, I am sure have said things or perhaps done things that we wish could be taken away and never said or done, but in reality they can’t be undone, no matter how much we wish, hope or pray about it. Life is so full of hurtful things and people, but it is up to us as an individual to take responsibility for our own actions and make sure that our brain is engaged before putting mouth in gear.

Friends are one who can and will be there to back you up in any situation, but they can only do or say just so much to make one feel better, it is up to us and only us to make sure that things like this never happen. Being human, is no easy task and we all make horrible mistakes in our lives, but we cannot actually change the past. Whatever happened in the past should stay in the past and not turn to bite us in the you know what at every waking moment.

It is said that a mother’s love is unconditional and this I really have to say is very true. My own mother loved me, no matter what I might or might not have done, she believed in me, my hopes and dreams. I know that it was genuine and without exception. I miss my mother to this day and know in my heart that we will see one another again on the other side, which for me will be a long time coming, naturally, I hope.

I just want all mothers and daughters that happen to read this post to think about their lives together and know that they need to be tolerant of one another as we are all different in our own ways and no matter what is thought, perhaps said and done, that you are the two that will be able to count on one another when no one else seems to give a hoot. Oh they always say things at the time to try and console our hearts, but in the end, they usually only hear one side of the story and hardly ever even know the real circumstances of what has taken place, but a mother and daughter both know each side.

In closing, I just want to say, sticks and stones do hurt very much but WORDS can and will hurt even deeper than anyone will ever be able to repair.

Leave a Reply

