March Has Arrived

Well, it has been such a long time since I posted on my blog, I thought it was time to get something off to my readers and to document my events again. I have now been in New Hampshire for going on 9 months. I came here in the summer time and have now forged through a really tough and harsh winter. Sometimes I ask myself, what ever possessed me to move to the New England area of the USA, but then I stop and look around and have my answer; family for one and the awesome beauty.

New Hampshire is not at all like I envisioned it to be. The people are friendly, for the most part, the weather, well you get all seasons and the scenery is just spectacular.

When I first returned to the states from South Africa, I kinda felt like a fish out of water, but things have turned out for the better. I spent a little over a year with my daughter and two grandchildren, got a job which was very customer related and for the DoD. I had to be scrutinized through a very thorough background check, which I passed with flying colors and not the skin of my teeth, and that was very rewarding. I got all my identification updated and changed into my married name. I decided it was time to make a move, yet once again, due to unforeseen circumstances and that is when I made the move to New Hampshire. My plans were for North Carolina, but that did not seem likely at that moment, so NH it was.

In June 2013 I made the journey and once again it was with family. This time I moved in with Mike’s daughter, my step-daughter and her family. I helped out around the house etc. until I kept feeling like I was putting too much pressure on the household, as it was an extra mouth to feed, using space that they could very well have been using for other purposes and just got tired of not being able to contribute financially to the household expenses like I wanted. I began looking for work and found a job in October 2013. Again I had to go through an extensive background check,  however I knew I would come through it without problems, so on October 16th, 2013 I finally started a good paying job, in fact making twice the hourly salary if not more than I was making in Louisiana. I have now had my three month evaluation and made 48 out of a possible 50 points, so I must be doing something right.

I have now moved from family and gotten an apartment for Mike & myself, for when he arrives here next month. I feel that a person can only infringe on family for so long and the time came to make that independent decision. We now have our own small one bedroom apartment only three miles from family. The views from the apartment are awesome. We can see the tops of the mountains and it’s like living in the countryside.

This all seems like starting over in life. I only moved into the apartment on Valentine’s Day, February 14th, 2014 and it is quite the life so far. A little boring at times, but I have my Internet, which was installed on the 26th, so I spent ten days simply listening to my music on my MP3-4 player and puttering around the house, sleeping and mostly just going back and forth to work. Things are all falling into place as my loving husband will be here in my arms next month. You can be assured that I am counting the days and nights as it has been way too long since we have been able to touch one another. Skype has kept me sane, as we are able to chat at time, be it ever so slow or pixely, but at lease we have had some time together. I am looking forward to being able to take in his smells, touch, kisses and simply being able to lye next to him and feel safe once again.

 

Leave a Reply

